h1

21. The Frosted Vegetable Roll

May 10, 2008

Starbucks Japan has really done it now. First the Coffee Jelly Frappuccino and now this.

People everywhere must be getting tired of these taste violations, not to mention the readers of this blog, who have to digest the bland prose dedicated to them.

But seriously, what was Starbucks thinking? A frosted cruciferous cake impaled with a tomato creme filling? Worse, this is marketed as a diet product, with calories and fat grams stamped on its placard.

How does a dieter stand a chance against this assault? No wonder the epidemic of obesity is spreading like hives through the Westernized World. If I were a strict dieter held at gunpoint and given the choice between this number and a bar of pure butter, I would eat the butter.

In addition, the cake resembles the normal roll cakes in Japan, leading the consumer to believe he or she is eating something valid and even tasteful. But the first bite reveals the truth–a zap of occult spinach and tomato, leaving an aftertaste of deception and dolor.

9 comments

  1. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm; Soylent Green Lite


  2. that looks super nasty but I have to say your prose is anything but bland 🙂


  3. Oops, not good. Blindsided by a vegetable roll.


  4. yes you are right. basing it on the picture it looks very deceiving. It actually looks like a normal roll and it looks very well presented. But I will take your word for it. You had me at tomato creme filling… yuck…


  5. As bizarre as it sounds, I’d give it a try LOL


  6. I dunno, I think I might like it. I should find one and give it a shot.


  7. You’re right! Generally speaking,the presentation makes you believe it’d be sthg out of this world. Which cruciferous they used ?

    I use to hate diet products. Rubbish! Moderation is the key as well as balance and exercise.

    Cruciferous ! Tell ya! They’re everywhere! Funny I wrote a post about them yesterday. A coincidence I get here (yours was on Front page).

    Hello from Madagascar. Country of natural and good food produce


  8. I would like to try it too.


  9. Having been sufficiently warned, I think I’d still try it. You just never know.



Leave a Reply

